Discover the world’s greatest film festivals and awards on MUBI Since 2004 the voting process is based on a shortlist of 35 players produced by FIFA, from which team captains, national team managers and select journalists vote for the winner. Directed by Robert Altman. Added to Watchlist.


As played by Tim Robbins, he is tall, with a massive forehead but a Dana Carvey smile, and he wears a suit well. Rate. Watching "The Player," we want to despise Griffin Mill, but we can't quite manage that. The current holder is Virgil van Dijk, who won the award on 28 April 2019. Starring Tim Robbins, Greta Scacchi, Fred Ward, Whoopi Goldberg A Hollywood studio executive is being sent death threats by a writer whose script he rejected, but which one?

Awards & Events. The Player (1992) R | 124 min | Comedy, Crime, Drama. He has a certain verbal charm. View production, box office, & company info Videos. Add to Watchlist. Official theatrical movie poster (#1 of 5) for The Player (1992). From 2010 until 2015, the FIFA player of the year award was merged with the Ballon d'Or and called the FIFA Ballon d'Or. 7.5/10 52,161. The award has been presented since the 1973–74 season and the winner is chosen by a vote amongst the members of the players' trade union, the Professional Footballers' Association (PFA). A year-by-year list of the Kia Defensive Player of the Year Award winners: ... 1992-93 Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston Rockets 1991-92 David Robinson, San Antonio Spurs 1990-91 …

Since then, six other players have won the award more than once, of which four have won it in consecutive seasons: Roy Keane (1999, 2000), Ruud van Nistelrooy (2002, 2003), Cristiano Ronaldo (2007, 2008), and David de Gea (2014, 2015, 2016). 86 Metascore. The first winner of the award was Brian McClair in 1988, who became the first player to win it twice in 1992.

Watch on Prime Video rent/buy from $2.99. He is not dumb. Find movie and film award information for The Player (1992) - Robert Altman on AllMovie